‘The Shape of Water,’ ‘Wonder Woman,’ ‘I, Tonya’ Top Costume Designers Guild Awards

Fox Searchlight

“The Shape of Water,” “Wonder Woman” and “I, Tonya” have won the top film awards at the 20th annual Costume Designers Guild Awards, which took place on Tuesday night in Beverly Hills.
“Shape of Water” designer Luis Sequeira won the CDG Award in the Excellence in Period Film category, “Wonder Woman” designer Lindy Hemming won in the Excellence in Fantasy Film category and “I, Tonya” designer Jennifer Johnson won in the Excellence in Contemporary Film category.
“The Shape of Water” is also nominated for the Oscar for costume design, but its victory must be considered an upset over fellow Oscar nominee “Phantom Thread,” which was favored both for the CDG Award and the Oscar. Sequeira’s victory came on a night when he also helped present “Shape of Water” director Guillermo del Toro with the Costume Designers Guild Distinguished Collaborator Award.
“Wonder Woman,” meanwhile, beat the Oscar-nominated “Beauty and the Beast” in its category.
Surprisingly, two of the five Oscar nominees for costume design – “Darkest Hour” and “Victoria & Abdul” – were not even nominated by the CDG.
Also Read:
In the 19 previous years of the Costume Designers Guild Awards, one of its winners has gone on to win the Academy Award for costume design nine times. In five of those cases, the Oscar winner has come from the CDG’s period-film category. Two other winners were from the fantasy-film category, and two from the combined period/fantasy category, which existed from 1999 through 2004.
In the three television categories, the winners were “The Handmaid’s Tale” (contemporary television), “The Crown” (period television) and “Game of Thrones” (sci-fi/fantasy television).
Pink’s “Beautiful Trauma” music video won for short -film design.
The ceremony took place at the Beverly Hilton Hotel and was hosted by Gina Rodriguez.
Also Read:
Honorary awards went to del Toro, costume designer Joanna Johnston (Career Achievement Award), jeweler Maggie Schpak (Distinguished Service Award) and actress Kerry Washington (Spotlight Award).
Costume designer John Mollo, whose work included the first two “Star Wars” films, was posthumously inducted into the Costume Designers Guild Hall of Fame by Mark Hamill.
The CDG Awards winners:
Excellence in Contemporary Film: “I, Tonya,” Jennifer JohnsonExcellence in Period Film: “The Shape of Water,” Luis SequeiraExcellence in Sci-Fi/Fantasy Film: “Wonder Woman,” Lindy Hemming
Excellence in Contemporary Television: “The Handmaid’s Tale,” Ane CrabtreeExcellence in Period Television: “The Crown,” Jane PetrieExcellence in Sci-Fi/Fantasy Television: “Game of Thrones,” Michele Clapton
Excellence in Short Film Design: P!NK: “Beautiful Trauma” music video, Kim Bowen
Career Achievement Award: Joanna JohnstonDistinguished Collaborator Award: Guillermo del ToroSpotlight Award: Kerry WashingtonDistinguished Service Award: Maggie SchpakCostume Designers Guild Hall of Fame: John Mollo
SAG Awards 2018: All the Red Carpet Arrivals (Photos)

The Screen Actors Guild Awards are honoring the best achievements in film and television acting in 2017, and the stars are dolled up as they arrive at the show. This year’s show features Kristen Bell as the SAG Awards’ first-ever host, and all the presenters will be women in response to the #TIMESUP and #MeToo movements, rather than the usual pairs of women and men presenting.”Get Out” and “Girls” star Allison WilliamsGetty Images
“Stranger Things” star Gaten MatarazzoGetty Images
“This is Us” star Logan ShroyerGetty Images
“Stranger Things” star Natalia DyerGetty Images
“Stranger Things” star Noah SchnappGetty Images
“Glow” star Alison BrieGetty Images
“Stranger Things” star Caleb McLaughlinGetty Images
“Disaster Artist” star Dave FrancoGetty Images
“This is Us” star Jon HuertasGetty Images
“This is Us” star Mackenzie HancsicsakGetty Images
“This is Us” star Cara BuonoGetty images
“This is Us” star Justin HartleyGetty Images
“This is Us” star Sterling K. BrownGety Images
“Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri” star Amanda WarrenGetty Images
“Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri” star Abbie CornishGetty Images
“Stranger Things” star Dacre MontgomeryGetty Images
“The Handmaid’s Tale” star Samira WileyGetty Images
“The Handmaid’s Tale” star Ann DowdGetty Images
“Divorce” star Molly ShannonGetty Images
“The Good Place” star Ted DansonGetty Images
“Orange is the New Black” star Emily TarverGetty Images
“The Handmaid’s Tale” star Yvonne StrahovskiGetty Images
“Glow” star Sydelle NoelGetty Images
“Black-ish” star Tracee Ellis RossGetty Images
“The Last Man on Earth” star Mary SteenburgenGetty Images
“The Crown” star Matt SmithGetty Images
“Veep” and “Better Call Saul” star Clea DuVallGetty Images
“The Big Sick” star Holly HunterGetty Images
“Spider-Man: Homecoming” star Marisa TomeiGetty Images
“Lady Bird” star Beanie FeldsteinGetty Images
“Stranger Things” star Millie Bobby BrownGetty Images
“I, Tonya” star Margot RobbieGetty Images
“The Crown” star Vanessa KirbyGetty Images
“Kong: Skull Island” star Brie LarsonGetty Images
“This is Us” star Susan Kelechi WatsonGetty Images
“Kingsmen: The Golden Circle” star Halle BerryGetty Images
“I, Tonya” star Allison JanneyGetty Images
“This is Us” star Chrissy MetzGetty Images
“Get Out” star Daniel KaluuyaGetty Images
“The Handmaid’s Tale” star Elisabeth MossGetty Images
“The Good Place” star and SAG Awards host Kristen BellGetty Images

(Tap photo and swipe to view gallery)

Steve Pond, awards editor at TheWrap, is also author of the L.A. Times bestseller The Big Show. He has been covering entertainment for more than two decades, and is the industry’s most knowledgeable Academy Awards prognosticator.

[ comments ]